Home » 2019 Cricket World Cup » ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup India Team Schedule/Matches

ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup India Team Schedule/Matches

With the 2019 Cricket World Cup just a year away, the ICC governing council is meeting in Kolkata to finalize the World Cup schedule. The final schedule is expected to be announced on 30th of this month. As of now, it has been confirmed that two-time champions and one of the tournament favorites India will be playing their opening game of the 2019 World Cup against South Africa on June 5th and square off against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 16.

The tournament will get underway on May 30, 2019, and will go on till July 14th. A total of 48 matches will be played in the tournament and unlike the 2015 edition, there will be just ten teams taking part in the World Cup.

2019 Cricket World Cup India Matches

  1. The Indian team will play its first match of the 2019 ICC World Cup against SA on June 5
  2. India will square off against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 16 in Manchester

June 5, 2019  South Africa vs India Hampshire Bowl, Southampton

June 9, 2019 India vs Australia The OvalLondon

June 13, 2019 India vs New Zealand Trent BridgeNottingham

June 16, 2019 India vs Pakistan Old Trafford, Manchester

June 22, 2019 India vs Afghanistan Hampshire BowlSouthampton

June 27, 2019 West Indies vs India Old TraffordManchester

June 30, 2019 England vs India EdgbastonBirmingham

July 2, 2019 Bangladesh vs India EdgbastonBirmingham

July 6, 2019 Sri Lanka vs India HeadingleyLeeds

The 2015 edition had 14 teams being split into two groups of seven teams each and the top-four from each group qualified for the quarter-finals followed by semis. This time, teams will play against each other in the round robin format and the top four will qualify for the semi-finals. As a result, every team will play at least nine matches in the tournament.

“This is the first time Indo-Pak match won’t be a starting affair. Since the format will be a round robin affair (all teams playing each other like 1992). As we had decided, India will play a maximum 309 days of international cricket in this cycle across formats, a reduction of 92 days from the earlier cycle. This team has the capability to win the Test series outside India with the kind of bowling and batting we have. We just missed to win the Test series in South Africa or else we could have created history.,” the official added.

So far, ten teams have confirmed their participation in the 2019 World Cup. Hosts England will be joined by India, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and West Indies in the extravaganza.

About Shraddha Wankhade

I am Shraddha. I have completed MBA from IGNU University. I am learning blogging. I love Cricket from childhood and big fan of Indian team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *