Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2018 and Last 11 Players List

Over the last couple of years, the Sri Lankan team is trying to get their way back to the top as they have been beaten easily in ODIs on a regular basis. With just over a year to go for the 201 World Cup, they will look to get their act together and perform as a unit.

The upcoming 2018 Asia Cup comes at the right time for Sri Lanka to resurrect themselves. Having placed in Group A alongside Bangladesh and Afghanistan, one can expect the Lions to make it to the next round and a failure to do so will be devastating for the Lions.

They have reinforced their squad by bringing in fast bowler Lasith Malinga, who has been on the sidelines for almost one year.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2018

  1. Angelo Mathews (c)
  2. Kusal Perera
  3. Kusal Mendis
  4. Upul Tharanga
  5. Dinesh Chandimal
  6. Danushka Gunathilaka
  7. Thisara Perera
  8. Dasun Shanaka
  9. Dhananjaya de Silva
  10. Akila Dananjaya
  11. Dilruwan Perera
  12. A Aponso
  13. Kasun Rajitha
  14. Suranga Lakmal
  15. Dushmantha Chameera
  16. Lasith Malinga

Reliable batsman Tharanga will open the batting with Gunathilaka, who can also provide a few overs with the ball when needed. Following the openers will be a decent middle-order that has the likes of Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera and skipper Angelo Mathews. Both Gunathilaka and Chandimal have been returning from their respective bans and will look to answer their critics with the bat.

All-rounder Thisara Perera will come out to bat at number 7 followed by Dasun Shanaka, who impressed everyone with both bat and ball in the recently-concluded series against South Africa. Suranga Lakmal and veteran pacer Lasith Malinga will be the two pacers while Akila Dhananjeya will be the frontline spinner. Dhananjay de Silva, who did well against South Africa might have to miss out from featuring in the playing XI due to the team combinations.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup Squad 2018 Last 11

  1. Upul Tharanga
  2. Danushka Gunathilake
  3. Kusal Mendis
  4. Kusal Perera
  5. Dinesh Chandimal
  6. Angelo Mathews (c)
  7. Thisara Perera
  8. Dasun Shanaka
  9. Akila Dananjaya
  10. Suranga Lakmal
  11. Lasith Malinga