India Team Asia Cup 2018 Schedule and Last 11 Players List

Indian captain Virat Kohli has been rested for the Asia Cup 2018 that will be getting underway in the United Arab Emirates from September 20. In his absence, regular vice-captain and opening batsman Rohit Sharma will captain the Indian team in the tournament while his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan will be his deputy.

Kohli has been playing non-stop cricket for a while and has been troubled a lot of late by a back injury. So, the selectors have opted to give him a rest for the tournament. “Considering the workload we’ve given him rest.

He has been playing continuously, yes he’s on the road since IPL, that’s looking at workload. I’ve been [to England] for the third Test match, we sat for a discussion regarding workload management, so we need to preserve some players who are playing all three formats. Looking at that workload issue we have started with Virat and rested him. Other all-format players will also be rested in due course,” MSK Prasad, the chairman of selectors, said.

India Team Asia Cup 2018 Schedule

  • 18 September – India vs Qualifier (Dubai)
  • 19 September – India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

The surprise pick in the squad has been Rajasthan fast bowler Khaleel Ahmed, who has got his maiden national call-up as the fourth frontline pacer alongside Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur. The middle-order trio of Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav and Manish Pandey were recalled to the side after missing the ODI series against England due to various reasons. Suresh Raina and Shreyas Iyer, who traveled to England, miss out from the squad. All-rounder Axar Patel has been named as the third spinner ahead of Krunal Pandya. India is in Group B alongside Pakistan and a qualifier and the top two teams from each team will qualify to the next round.

India Team Asia Cup 2018 Players List

  1. Rohit Sharma (captain)
  2. Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain)
  3. KL Rahul
  4. Ambati Rayudu
  5. Manish Pandey
  6. Kedar Jadhav
  7. MS Dhoni
  8. Dinesh Karthik
  9. Hardik Pandya
  10. Axar Patel
  11. Yuzvendra Chahal
  12. Kuldeep Yadav
  13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  14. Jasprit Bumrah
  15. Shardul Thakur
  16. Khaleel Ahmed.