Asia Cup 2018 Sri Lanka Squad Team Members Name

ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 Sri Lanka Winner

Sri Lanka Cricket announced their squad for the Asia Cup 2018 and there are a couple of surprises in their 16-member squad. Fast bowler Lasith Malinga has been recalled to the national team after being on the sidelines for almost one year. Malinga last played in an ODI against India in September 2017, which was also his last international match.

He was left out of the Sri Lankan side for the one-off T20I against South Africa in August and that created a lot of doubts over the Lankan cricketer’s future in international cricket as it was one format in which he is a regular. But, recalling the pacer shows that he is still in the team’s plans for the World Cup that will be taking place in England next year.

The squad will be led by Angelo Mathews in spite of their regular captain Dinesh Chandimal returning to the side after serving his suspension for his involvement in ball tampering. Surprisingly, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella has been left out of the squad and has been named as one of the four stand-bys which include Chinaman bowler Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Snehan Jayasuriya and Snehan Madhushanka.

In the absence of Dickwella, Kusal Perera is likely to don the gloves for Mathews and co. in the upcoming Asia Cup.Sri Lanka are grouped alongside Bangladesh and Afghanistan in the Asia Cup, which will be held in the UAE from September 15 to 28. They will be having their task cut out in the tournament as both the other teams are not pushovers anymore and only the top two teams will make it to the next round.

Asia Cup 2018 Sri Lanka Squad

  • Angelo Mathews (c)
  • Kusal Perera
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Upul Tharanga
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Danushka Gunathilake
  • Thisara Perera
  • Dasun Shanaka
  • Dhananjaya de Silva
  • Akila Dananjaya
  • Dilruwan Perera
  • A Aponso
  • Kasun Rajitha
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Lasith Malinga.