2019 Cricket World Cup West Indies Squad, Players Names, Team List

Two-time World Cup Champions West Indies almost missed out from a berth in the 2019 ICC World Cup as the Caribbean men failed to qualify for the World Cup directly and had to play in the World Cup qualifiers to make it to the extravaganza.

One would have expected West Indies to qualify easily but they should consider themselves lucky as the rain god’s decided to show some sympathy and let them qualify for the World Cup. One can expect the West Indies to have a full-strength side for the World Cup and that makes them the dark horse going into the tournament.

Big-hitting batsmen Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis will open the batting for them. Even if one of them gets going, the opposition team will be having a hard time on the field. Veteran batsman Marlon Samuels will bat at number three followed by Shai Hope, who has been consistent with the bat for a while.

Vice-captain Jason Mohammad will bat at five followed by all-rounder Andre Russell at 6. It will be interesting to see whether the Bravo brothers make it to the squad. If they do so, Dwayne will bat get the nod in the playing XI ahead of Rovman Powell and their T20I captain Carlos Brathwaite. Skipper Jason Holder will bat at 8 and is likely to open the bowling.

One more interesting name that could in the mix is Sunil Narine and if the spinner is included in the side, he will be the lead spinner in the side batting at number 9 in spite of his heroics in the IPL. Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph and spinner Ashley Nurse will complete the playing XI.

Let us take a look at how West Indies might line up in the World Cup.

2019 Cricket World Cup West Indies Squad

  1. Chris Gayle
  2. Evin Lewis
  3. Marlon Samuels
  4. Shai Hope (WK)
  5. Jason Mohammad
  6. Andre Russell
  7. DJ Bravo
  8. Jason Holder (c)
  9. Sunil Narine
  10. Alzarri Joseph
  11. Ashley Nurse
  12. Keemo Paul
  13. Carlos Brathwaite
  14. Rovman Powell
  15. Darren Bravo

2019 World Cup West Indies Probable Last 11

  • Chris Gayle
  • Evin Lewis
  • Marlon Samuels
  • Shai Hope (WK)
  • Jason Mohammad
  • Andre Russell
  • DJ Bravo
  • Jason Holder (c)
  • Sunil Narine
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Ashley Nurse