ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule Time Table, Teams List, Qualifiers Schedule

The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup will be taking place in 2020 and Australia will be the hosts for the T20 extravaganza. It has also been announced that the tournament will take place before the Australian summer as it is expected to get underway on 18 October and go on till 15 November.

Unlike the 50-over World Cups which will be co-hosted by both Australia and New Zealand, it has been announced that Cricket Australia as the sole host board for the tournament. Earlier, there were speculations that both Australia and New Zealand will host the tournament, as at the 1992 Cricket World Cup and the 2015 Cricket World Cup, but later it was confirmed by New Zealand Cricket that Australia would be the sole host for the tournament.

In April 2016, ICC Chief executive David Richardon said that he will push for at least two more teams to be added to the first and second round in future World Twenty20 editions.

In all likelihood, we will be seeing as many as 16 teams taking part in the tournament. Hosts Australia will get a direct entry while the other nine nations in the top-10 ICC T20I rankings at the cut-off date in September 2019 will also get direct entry. The remaining six teams will be determined by a World T20 qualifier ahead of the tournament.

As many as eight venues will be having the rights to host the matches in the tournament. The MCG in Melbourne, which is the likely destination for the final, The SCG in Sydney, Adelaide Oval, The Gabba in Brisbane, Blundstone Arena in Hobart, the newly-constructed stadium in Perth, Manuka Oval in Canberra and Kirdina Park in Geelong will be the eight venues where the matches will take place.

Two-time Champions West Indies will look to defend their title while hosts Australia will look to win their maiden World T20 crown. One thing is certain, it will be an exciting one months down under come October 2020.

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Qualifiers Schedule

Means of Qualification Date Venue Berths Qualified
Automatic Qualifications
Host Nation 1  Australia
ICC T20I Championship
(Ranked 1st – 9th who played in the last WT20, not including the hosts)
31 December 2018 Various 9 TBD
2020 ICC World T20 Qualifier TBD TBD 6 TBD
Total 16