2019 Cricket World Cup Sri Lanka Squad, Players Names, Team List

The pace at which the Sri Lankans team is going down, it won’t be a surprise if they find petrol in the near future. The Sri Lankan team is hardly posing any threat which is evident from their ODI series loss to Zimbabwe last year. Going into the 2019 World Cup, it won’t be a surprise if the likes of Bangladesh and Afghanistan finish above the Lankans in the tournament.

But, the Thisara Perera-led side will look to silence the critics by doing well in the tournament. Veteran batsman Upul Tharanga, who has been very consistent in the format of late, will open the innings with wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella. Coming in at number three will be Kusal Mendis followed by Dinesh Chandimal and all-rounder Angelo Mathews.

Sri Lanka’s chances in the World Cup are heavily dependent on the form of both Mathews and Chandimal and if the duo finds a way to come good, it will be a blessing in disguise for the Lankan Lions. Kusal Perera will be responsible for finishing the innings as he comes to bat at number 6. Skipper Thisara Perera will be batting at number seven.

The spin department will be taken care by mystery spinner Akila Dhananjaya and Wanidu Hasaranga while pacers Suranga Lakmal and Shaminda Eranga will get the nod as the fast bowlers ahead of Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep.

It will be interesting to see whether star pacer Lasith Malinga makes it to the 15 as he is in the middle of a tussle with the board. Let us take a look at how Sri Lanka will line up in the 2019 World Cup.

2019 Cricket World Cup Sri Lanka Squad

  1. Upul Tharanga
  2. Niroshan Dickwella
  3. Kusal Mendis
  4. Dinesh Chandimal
  5. Angelo Mathews
  6. Kusal Perera
  7. Thisara Perera
  8. Akila Dhananjaya
  9. Wanidu Hasaranga
  10. Suranga Lakmal
  11. Shaminda Eranga
  12. Nuwan Pradeep
  13. Lahiru Thirimanne
  14. Seekuge Prasanna
  15. Dushmantha Chameera

2019 World Cup Sri Lanka Probable Last 11

  • Upul Tharanga
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Kusal Mendis
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Kusal Perera
  • Thisara Perera
  • Akila Dhananjaya
  • Wanidu Hasaranga
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Shaminda Eranga